16:00 Ascot 13 Jul 2019

Fred Cowley MBE Memorial Summer Mile Stakes

Group 2 | Class 1 | 4YO plus

Winner £79,394 - 8 ran

7f 213y

Good to Firm

Draw Advantage: High

Last year’s race

Beat The Bank
  • Winner: Beat The Bank
  • Jockey: Oisin Murphy
  • Trainer: A M Balding
  • Owner: King Power Racing Co Ltd
  • Age: 4 Weight: 9st 1lbs
  • Starting Price: 11/4
  • Season Form Figures: 06
  • Previous Best: 1st - Joel Stakes, Newmarket (September 2017)

Became a Group 2 in 2007 having undergone a number of different guises and sets of race conditions between being run at Ascot and Lingfield but it has now settled down to a regular feature of the miling programme.

It takes place on the round course, is for older horses and attracts Group 1 performers dropping down in class from the Queen Anne and improvers on an upward curve trying their luck moving up in grade. Proven class has come to the fore more often than not.

Five of the 12 winners arrived here off a victory and also note Ascot form as five winners contested the Group 1 Queen Anne over the straight mile a month earlier finishing between second-sixth so were appreciating this drop in class.

Beat The Bank is on target to defend his title after finishing second to Lord Glitters in the Queen Anne where Accidental Agent refused to race, Stormy Atlantic finished eleventh and Dream Castle was back in fourteenth.

In last year’s Summer Mile, Beat The Bank edged out Lord Glitters and Suedois with just half a length covering the three after a disappointing effort in the Queen Anne, so all looks good for a strong defence.

Fanunulter and Guest Of Honour were placed in the previous year’s Summer Mile before winning 12 months down the line so supporters of Suedois can be hopeful of reversing half a length with Beat The Bank. Mutakayyef landed back-to-back to runnings in 2017-18 giving Sheikh Hamdan al Maktoum a fourth win in the race going back to Aqlaam in 2009.

Aqlaam had won the previous season’s Jersey Stakes and a placed horse from that 7f Group 3 at Royal Ascot the previous year has also won the Summer Mile. More relevant this year if Zaaki is declared is that he won well here in April beating Barney Roy and has since added the Diomed Stakes, a race won by Arod before he won the Summer Mile.

In those dozen runnings since being elevated to a Group 2, winners have been shared out fairly equally between four, five and six-year-olds so no angle there but the favourite has a superb record winning the last six runnings. In fact, only two of the 12 winners did not start in the first two in the betting.

William Haggas has won the race on three occasions since 2009 so very much leads the way as no other trainer has saddled more than one Summer Mile winner and his filly, Awesometank, was his sole entry. She was also the only filly entered and they have yet to win since the upgrade to Group 2.

Last season’s 2000 Guineas runner-up, Tip To Win, is entered and his connections will be hoping that he can emulate Dick Turpin who won this contest the season after he was second in the opening classic of the season.

At a glance summary

Finished second-sixth in the Queen Anne Stakes
Ran well in last season’s race
The favourite
Last-time-out winners
Trained by William Haggas
Outside of the front two in the betting

Previous Winners

Year Going Ran Winner Draw Age Weight OR Form Last run Trainer (Distance) Jockey SP Time
2018 Good to Firm 8 Beat The Bank 5 4 9 1 - 1110-06 25 days A Balding (33 miles) Oisin Murphy 11/ 4 1:39.39
2017 Good 7 Mutakayyef 3 6 9 1 - 1133-52 25 days W Haggas (88 miles) Dane O'Neill 4/ 7 1:41.60
2016 Good to Firm 10 Mutakayyef 7 5 9 1 - 23223-1 28 days W Haggas (88 miles) Dane O'Neill 7/ 2 1:40.88
2015 Good to Firm 6 Arod 3 4 9 1 - 415-231 36 days P Chapple-Hyam (88 miles) Andrea Atzeni 6/ 4 1:40.31
2014 Good to Firm 9 Guest of Honour 3 5 9 1 - 1397-41 28 days M Botti (88 miles) M Harley 11/ 4 1:39.34
2013 Good to Firm 11 Aljamaaheer 5 4 9 1 - 333-232 25 days R Varian (88 miles) Paul Hanagan 6/ 4 1:38.51
2012 Good to Soft 8 Fanunalter 1 6 9 1 - 254-080 142 days M Wigham (88 miles) O Peslier 33/ 1 1:41.36
2011 Good 5 Dick Turpin 4 4 9 4 - 153-149 48 days R Hannon (52 miles) Pat Dobbs 2/ 1 1:41.48
2010 Good to Firm 10 Premio Loco 8 6 9 1 - 211-571 14 days C Wall (88 miles) G Baker 4/ 1 1:40.43
2009 Good to Firm 7 Aqlaam 6 4 9 1 - 311-03 25 days W Haggas (88 miles) Richard Hills 15/ 8 1:39.92