Royal Ascot - At The Races

17:00 Ascot 23 Jun 2017

Queen's Vase (Group 2) (Class 1) (3YO only)

Winner £91,445 - 13 ran


1m 5f 211y

Good to Firm (Watered)

View Course Guide

Weighed In

Last year’s race

Sword Fighter
  • Winner: Sword Fighter
  • Jockey: C O'Donoghue
  • Trainer: A P O'Brien
  • Owner: Mr M Tabor, D Smith & Mrs John Magnier
  • Age: 3 Weight: 9st 3lb
  • Starting Price: 33/1
  • Season Form Figures: 213
  • Previous Best: 3rd - Winners' race, Naas (May 2016)

Upgraded to a Group 2 and dropped in distance down to 1m6f this year in attempt to breathe new life into this division, it seemed to be doing okay to me having recently featured three St Leger winners and two Gold Cup winners. And this upgrade coming off the back of the Queen’s Vase being downgraded from Group 3 to Listed status three years ago makes it even more peculiar.

This has been a mighty good race for followers of the market with 19 of the last 22 winners starting in the first four in the betting and just one winner during that time period started at any bigger than 11/1. In fact, the favourite has obliged on eight occasions in the last 17 years. 

Of winners since 1992, just four were sired by a stallion with a Stamina Index of less than ten furlongs – the latest pair being the Aidan O’Brien-trained Aloft and Sword Fighter in the last two years who were both by Galileo (11.2f).

Of winners since 1992, just four were sired by a stallion with a Stamina Index of less than ten furlongs – the latest pair being the Aidan O’Brien-trained Aloft and Sword Fighter in the last two years who were both by Galileo (11.2f). O’Brien is chasing a fourth win in five years as the Montjeu-sired Leading Light won in 2013. These SI stats aren’t surprising given that this a stern test of stamina for 3yos in June so horses with plenty of staying power in their pedigree have unsurprisingly come to the fore but whether this trend will be held up now the race has been reduced by 2f in years to come, only time will tell.

Of late it has been the Mark Johnston, Aidan O’Brien and Sir Michael Stoute show. Having trained a remarkable seven of the last 16 winners, we wait to see what Johnston has up his sleeve for the 2016 running. Maybe Time For Study. Other connections to note are Aidan O’Brien, who has won five of the last ten runnings, and the Aga Khan and Sir Michael Stoute who successfully combined with Maridpour (1998) and Dalampour (2000) plus Stoute has also won two of the last nine runnings with Patkai and Estimate for different owners. Also take note that Sheikh Mohammed has won six Queen’s Vase's since 1990, four in his maroon and white colours and two in the Godolphin blue.

The most surprising statistic with regards to winners since 1996 is that as many as seven were unraced at two. However, that trend is deceiving as the last eight winners raced as juveniles, so a complete turnaround.

Eleven of the last 17 winners had recorded a victory earlier in the campaign so it is surprising that ten of the last 15 winners were beaten last time out. That said, ten of the last 13 winners to beaten on their most recent start were contesting Group and Listed races in defeat.

At a glance summary

Start in the first four in the betting
Trained by Aidan O'Brien, Mark Johnston or Sir Michael Stoute
Beaten in a Group or Listed race last time out
Owned by Sheikh Mohammed or the Aga Khan
By a sire with a Stallion Index of under 10f


2016KinemaR M BeckettF M Berry5 9-48/119
2015Arab DawnH MorrisonR Hughes4 9-26/1jf17
2014Arab SpringSir Michael StouteR L Moore4 9-1011/4f18
2013OpinionSir Michael StouteR L Moore4 9-08/116
2012CamborneJ H M GosdenWilliam Buick4 9-411/2f18
2011Fox HuntM JohnstonS De Sousa4 9-812/116
2010Cill RialaigH MorrisonS Drowne5 8-1116/117
2009Drill SergeantM JohnstonJ Fanning4 9-714/117
2008Sugar RaySir Michael StouteR L Moore4 9-08/119
2007Pevensey John Quinn Graham Gibbons 6 8-108/114
2006Young Mick G Margarson T Quinn 4 9-028/119
2005Notable GuestSir M StouteM Kinane4 9-84/116
2004WunderwoodLady HerriesS Sanders5 9-115/213
2003WaverleyH MorrisonJ Fortune4 9-014/120
2002Thundering SurfJ JenkinsR Hughes5 9-011/120
2001Takamaka BayM JohnstonD Holland4 9-010/120
2000KatiykhaJ OxxJ Murtagh4 9-910/120
1999BlueprintSir M StouteG Stevens4 9-94/1f18
1998Greek PalaceSir M StouteW Swinburn4 9-89/120
1997ZaralaskaL CumaniPat Eddery6 8-138/119
1996TykeyvorLady HerriesF Lynch (5)6 8-114/120
1995Son Of Sharp ShotJ DunlopPat Eddery5 8-135/119
1994Master CharlieI BaldingL Dettori4 9-210/120
1993Source Of LightR CharltonPat Eddery4 9-311/116
1992SpinningI BaldingR Cochrane5 9-325/120
1991RinjaD ArbuthnotJ Lowe4 7-916/120