Royal Ascot - At The Races

17:35 Ascot 22 Jun 2017

King George V Stakes (Handicap) (Class 2) (3YO only)

Winner £56,025 - 18 ran


1m 3f 211y

Good to Firm (Watered)

View Course Guide

Weighed In

Last year’s race

  • Winner: Primitivo
  • Jockey: William Twiston-Davies
  • Trainer: A King
  • Owner: N Farrell, L Field, T Mellor & B Cogne
  • Age: 3 Weight: 9st 3lb
  • Starting Price: 13/2
  • Season Form Figures: 11
  • Previous Best: 1st - Handicap race, Sandown (May 2016)

With two-thirds of the last 24 winners failing to win as a two-year-old, we should be looking towards the later-developing types in this three-year-old handicap over 1m4f and preferably from one of the higher-profile yards. The more lightly-raced the individual, the more interested we should be and also respect the value of a good run last time out as 26 of the last 28 winners either won or finished placed on their most recent start. Four of the last 11 winners had won a handicap at Sandown.

Also, don’t be put off by maidens. The 66/1 winner, Cosmic Sun, eight years ago was a maiden as was Heron Bay when scoring on his handicap debut in 2007 after three defeats in maidens whilst the 1999 winner, Elmutabaki, was beaten in four maidens before winning on his first start in a handicap.

With two-thirds of the last 24 winners failing to win as a two-year-old, we should be looking towards the later-developing types.

Trainers with a proven track record in this race are Sir Michael Stoute, Mark Johnston and John Gosden – in fact they have won 11 of the last 24 runnings between them. Of that triumvirate, it is Sir Michael Stoute’s record that most catches the eye having recorded four victories in the last 18 years including a 1-2 in 2004 and last season’s runner-up. From 44 runners in the King George V Handicap since 1995, Mark Johnston has struck five times and he has also supplied three close-up placed runners whilst John Gosden also commands respect as from his last 14 runners stretching back to 1993, he has notched up two winners, a second and two thirds. Roger Charlton’s contenders also deserve a second look as his Source Of Light took the honours in 1992 and, since then, three of his other six runners have also made the frame.

Favourites didn't have an especially good record up until Colony’s success nine years ago with just one obliging in between when Carlingford won in 1989 but Brown Panther justified 4/1 favouritism in style six years ago winning by six lengths and it was the 4/1 joint-favourites, Elite Army and Windshear, who fought out the finish three years ago. A good place to go winner hunting has been in the 13/2-14/1 bracket, an area that has been responsible for 17 of the last 26 winners.

At a glance summary

The more lightly-raced the better
Won a Sandown handicap
Trained by Sir Michael Stoute, Mark Johnston, John Gosden or Roger Charlton
Likely to start between 13/2 and 14/1
Finished outside the first three last time out

Previous Winners - KING GEORGE V STAKES

2016PrimitivoA KingWilliam Twiston-Davies3 9-313/216
2015Space AgeC ApplebyW Buick3 8-109/117
2014Elite ArmyS bin SuroorK Fallon3 9-14/1jf18
2013ElidorM R ChannonM Harley3 9-020/118
2012Fennell BayM JohnstonJ Fanning3 8-112/118
2011Brown PantherTom DascombeR Kingscote3 8-134/1jf18
2010DandinoJ G GivenP Mulrennan3 8-137/118
2009Cosmic SunR A FaheyP Hanagan3 7-1266/119
2008ColonySir Michael StouteR L Moore3 8-1211/2f16
2007Heron BayGeoff Wragg Steve Drowne 4 8-1120/119
2006Linas SelectionM JohnstonK Darley3 8-99/219
2005MunsefJ DunlopR Hills3 8-714/114
2004AdmiralSir M StouteN Mackay3 8-09/117
2003Fantastic LoveM JohnstonK Dalgleish3 8-1110/120
2002SystematicM JohnstonK Darley3 8-129/119
2001BeekeeperSir M StouteJ Murtagh3 9-714/120
2000Give The SlipMrs A PerrettPat Eddery3 9-48/116
1999ElmutabakiB HillsR Hills3 8-129/119
1998Double ClassicSir M StouteJ Reid3 8-124/1f17
1997HeritageJ GosdenL Dettori3 8-615/220
1996SamraanJ DunlopT Quinn3 9-314/120
1995DiaghilefM JohnstonD Holland3 9-740/120
1994Midnight LegendL CumaniJ Weaver3 8-79/119
1993LearmontJ GosdenJ Carroll3 8-814/116
1992Source Of LightR CharltonPat Eddery3 8-1012/119
1991TorchonG WraggG Carter3 8-78/119