Royal Ascot - At The Races

15:05 Ascot 22 Jun 2017

Hampton Court Stakes (Group 3) (Class 1) (3YO only)

Winner £51,039 - 13 ran


1m 1f 212y

Good to Firm (Watered)

View Course Guide

Weighed In

Last year’s race

  • Winner: Hawkbill
  • Jockey: W Buick
  • Trainer: C Appleby
  • Owner: Godolphin
  • Age: 3 Weight: 9st 0lb
  • Starting Price: 11/2
  • Season Form Figures: 1
  • Previous Best: 1st - Newmarket Stakes (Listed Race), Newmarket (May 2016) 

Previously run over 1m4f and now back known as the Hampton Court Stakes, having been called the Tercentenary Stakes between 2011-16, this contest restricted to three-year-olds was upgraded from Listed status to Group 3 six years ago having been a 1m2f handicap since 2000 so only patterns from the turn of the century are of interest from which point all nine fillies to run have yet to get seriously competitive.

A contest chock full of progressive horses mainly consisting from the top stables, of the 17 winners going back to and including 2000, six had been contesting and getting beaten in Group races (four of which in the Dante), five others contested a handicap on their last start (two of the last three won the London Gold Cup at Newbury won this season by Defoe) with another three running in a maiden last time out. Last year’s winner, Hawkbill, won a Listed race on his previous start.

Of the 19 penalised horses to have run since 2000, only Afsare has won and just one other made the frame.

Of the 19 penalised horses to have run since 2000, only Afsare has won and just one other made the frame. Afsare justified 9/4 favouritism on that occasion and this has been a race where the market leaders have come to the fore as 11 of the last 13 winners could be found in the first four in the betting. Cannock Chase and Time Test were very well-backed successful favourites in the last three years after winning the London Gold Cup.

Twelve of the last 17 winners notched up at least a top-three finish last time out. Three of the quintet that didn’t were found out in Group 1 company which is easily forgivable at this lower level.

Hawkbill led home a Godolphin 1-2 last season but the best trainer records belong to Aidan O’Brien who has trained two winners from his last 11 runners and Sir Michael Stoute who has won two of the last eight runnings.

At a glance summary

Horses beaten in a Group or Listed race last time out (notably the Dante Stakes)
Likely to start in the first four in the betting
Trained by Aidan O’Brien or Sir Michael Stoute
Finished unplaced last time out (unless in a Group 1 race)


2016HawkbillC ApplebyW Buick3 9-011/29
2015Time TestR CharltonL Dettori3 9-015/8f11
2014Cannock ChaseSir Michael StouteR L Moore3 9-07/4f8
2013RemoteJ H M GosdenW Buick3 9-09/4f12
2012EnergizerJ HirschbergerA de Vries3 9-015/210
2011Pisco SourH MorrisonJ Fortune3 9-020/116
2010AfsareL M CumaniK Fallon3 9-59/4f15
2009Glass HarmoniumSir Michael StouteR L Moore3 9-28/112
2008CollectionW J HaggasK McEvoy3 9-213/215
2007Zaham Mark Johnston Richard Hills 3 9-27/2f14
2006Snoqualmie Boy D R C Elsworth J F Egan 3 8-1133/115
2005Indigo CatA O'BrienK Fallon3 8-113/1f9
2004Moscow BalletA O'BrienJ Spencer3 8-118/113
2003Persian MajestyP HarrisJ Murtagh3 8-118/111
2002Burning SunH CecilT Quinn3 8-1114/113