Royal Ascot - At The Races

16:20 Ascot 21 Jun 2017

Prince Of Wales's Stakes (Group 1) (Class 1) (4YO plus)

Winner £425,325 - 8 ran


1m 1f 212y

Good to Firm (Watered)

View Course Guide

Weighed In

Last year’s race

My Dream Boat
  • Winner: My Dream Boat
  • Jockey: A Kirby
  • Trainer: C G Cox
  • Owner: Paul & Clare Rooney
  • Age: 4 Weight: 9st 0lb
  • Starting Price: 16/1
  • Season Form Figures: 15
  • Previous Best: 1st - Gordon Richards Stakes (Group 3), Sandown (Apr 2016)

Since the Prince Of Wales’s Stakes was upgraded to Group 1 status in 2000, few races in the world can match its Roll Of Honour. It used to be a case of concentrating on proven Group 1 winners but Byword, Free Eagle and My Dream Boat were all winning at the highest level for the first time when successful here in recent seasons. Only one winner started at longer odds than 8/1. Over a longer period of time, only four of the last 30 winners did not start in the first four in the betting.

With regards to recent form, 13 of the last 20 winners won last time out and three winners failed to make the first three last time out in the same time span. It can often be productive to note last season’s Prince Of Wales’s Stakes as six of the last 13 winners were beaten in this race 12 months ago.

With regards to key races run during the current campaign, the Tattersalls Gold Cup has fared best of late with the last seven winners to take their chance notching up four wins, two seconds and a third. In the absence of the injured Minding, this season’s race was a below-par affair and won by Decorated Knight beating Somehow. The Prix Ganay is another race to have had a notable impact as its last five winners to take their chance here have recorded two wins, a second and a fourth.

It can often be productive to note last season’s Prince Of Wales’s Stakes as six of the last 13 winners were beaten in this race 12 months ago.

This year’s Ganay was won by Cloth Of Stars, who has been ruled out of the Royal Meeting, but Zarak was an unfortunate runner-up not getting the gaps until late on. Zarak, however, then finished last of five in the Prix D’Ispahan won by Mekhtaal who has Prince Of Wales’s and Hardwicke entries. The French have a decent record of late winning three times in the last ten years courtesy of Manduro, Vision D’Etait and Byword, though Treve was an odds-on disappointment.

Godolphin used to run their best 1m2f horse in this race but, following three wins on the spin between 2000-2002, they have struggled in this race despite sending out three big guns in the shape of Electrocutionist, Moon Ballad and Sulamani. Their Rewilding was successful six years ago when turning over the long odds-on So You Think but other than that, they have failed to land a blow recently. In addition to the St James’s Palace Stakes, Sir Michael Stoute has surprisingly struggled in the Prince Of Wales’s Stakes with only Stagecraft in 1991 proving successful. Ulysses could bid to try and put that right.

The Fugue was giving John Gosden his third winner three years ago and she became the third filly/mare to win going back to Ouija Board (2006) and Bosra Sham (1997). Rakti and Free Eagle took this prize on their seasonal debuts.

At a glance summary

Winner last time out
The Tattersalls Gold Cup and Prix Ganay winners
Contested last season’s renewal
Trained in France
Yet to win a Group/Grade 1 race
Unplaced last time out
Likely to start bigger than 8/1
Trained by Sir Michael Stoute


2016My Dream BoatC G CoxA Kirby4 9-016/16
2015Free EagleD K WeldP J Smullen4 9-05/2f9
2014The FugueJ H M GosdenW Buick5 8-1111/28
2013Al KazeemR CharltonJames Doyle5 9-011/411
2012So You ThinkA P O'BrienJ P O'Brien6 9-04/5f11
2011RewildingM Al ZarooniL Dettori4 9-017/27
2010BywordA FabreM Guyon4 9-05/2f12
2009Vision D'etatE LibaudO Peslier4 9-04/18
2008Duke Of MarmaladeA P O'BrienJ Murtagh4 9-0Evens f12
2007ManduroAndre Fabre Stephan Pasquier 5 9-015/8f6
2006Ouija Board E A L Dunlop O Peslier 5 8-118/17
2005AzamourJ OxxM Kinane4 9-011/8f8
2004RaktiM JarvisP Robinson5 9-03/110
2003NayefM TregoningR Hills5 9-05/110
2002GranderaS Bin SuroorL Dettori4 9-04/112
2001Fantastic LightS Bin SuroorL Dettori5 9-010/39
2000Dubai MillenniumS Bin SuroorJ Bailey4 9-05/46
1999Lear SpearD ElsworthM Kinane4 9-320/18
1998Faithful SonS Bin SuroorJ Reid4 9-311/28
1997Bosra ShamH CecilK Fallon4 9-54/11f6
1996First IslandG WraggM Hills4 9-39/112
1995MuhtarramJ GosdenW Carson6 9-85/16
1994MuhtarramJ GosdenW Carson5 9-76/4f11
1993PlacervilleH CecilPat Eddery3 8-411/211
1992PerpendicularH CecilW Ryan4 9-320/111
1991StagecraftSir M StouteS Cauthen4 9-36/4f6