Royal Ascot - At The Races

14:30 Ascot 21 Jun 2017

Jersey Stakes (Group 3) (Class 1) (3YO only)

Winner £51,039 - 20 ran



Good to Firm (Watered)

View Course Guide

Weighed In

Last year’s race

  • Winner: Ribchester
  • Jockey: W Buick
  • Trainer: R A Fahey
  • Owner: Godolphin
  • Age: 3 Weight: 9st 6lb
  • Starting Price: 7/1
  • Season Form Figures: 23
  • Previous Best: 3rd - 2000 Guineas Stakes, Newmarket (Apr 2016)

It is not uncommon that horses which failed to fully stay a mile in a version of a Guineas drop back a furlong in trip to win here. Four of the last four winners, for example, had finished placed in a Guineas and the other was unplaced in the 2000 Guineas. In two of the last three years the 1-2-3 had run in a Guineas beforehand.

All three of Aidan O’Brien’s winners ran in a Guineas and he could be represented by the Newmarket fourth and Curragh fifth, Lancaster Bomber. Other likely contenders from a Guineas are Le Brivido (second in the French 2000 Guineas), Dream Castle (fifth in the 2000 Guineas) and Daban (third in the 1000 Guineas).

The tide has certainly turned with regards to penalised runners as four of the last six winners defied a penalty following 24 consecutive years of unpenalised winners of the Jersey Stakes.

The tide has certainly turned with regards to penalised runners as four of the last six winners (Strong Suit, Mustajeeb, Dutch Connection and Ribchester) defied a penalty following 24 consecutive years of unpenalised winners of the Jersey Stakes. That’s some turnaround. Listed race winners have been successful on five occasions in the last 12 years and are unpenalised. Regards last-time-out maiden winners, they endured a terrible run after Zilzal won in 1989 not winning again since Aqlaam in 2008 but Rainfall became another two years later.

A decent guide has been the King Charles II Stakes at Newmarket won by Taamol with Jeremy and Tariq following up their successes in that Listed race here in 2006 and 2007. In fact, during the last 18 years, two more Jersey Stakes winners in Membership and Observatory also finished second in that Listed race immediately prior to winning here plus horses to finish in the first three in the last six runnings of that King Charles II Stakes have gone on to place here, Thikriyaat being the latest last year.

Being on an in-form horse has also been key as 17 of the last 21 winners finished in the first four last time out, the exceptions being Kheleyf who won on his seasonal debut so can not be accused of being out of form as such, two that were outclassed in the 2000 Guineas and Strong Suit who ran a shocker in the Greenham on his previous outing. Of those 17 winners, eight won on their most recent outing.

Sir Michael Stoute (likely to be represented by Taamol) and Aidan O’Brien share the best record with three Jersey Stakes victories each but also respect Jeremy Noseda whose Proclamation won in 2005 following on from Just James in 2002 and he has had three others placed, two of which at big prices since the first of those victories. It had been tough going for fillies as all 17 to run since Satin Flower won in 1991 had been beaten up until Rainfall and Ishvana’s successes in the last seven years and Fadhayill only found one too good in 2015. 

At a glance summary

Contested any version of a Guineas
Penalised runners for winning a Group race
Last time out winner
Listed race winner
Ran well in the King Charles II Stakes
Trained by Sir Michael Stoute, Jeremy Noseda or Jeremy Noseda
Unplaced on most recent start unless in the 2000 Guineas

Previous Winners - JERSEY STAKES

2016RibchesterR A FaheyW Buick3 9-67/119
2015Dutch ConnectionC HillsJim Crowley3 9-414/116
2014MustajeebD K WeldP J Smullen3 9-49/2jf23
2013Gale Force TenA P O'BrienJ P O'Brien3 9-19/2f21
2012IshvanaA P O'BrienJ A Heffernan3 8-1220/122
2011Strong SuitR HannonR Hughes3 9-611/19
2010RainfallM JohnstonR L Moore3 8-128/113
2009OuqbaB W HillsT P O'Shea3 9-112/116
2008AqlaamW J HaggasR Hills3 9-113/216
2007TariqPeter Chapple-Hyam Jimmy Fortune 3 9-1 15/215
2006JeremySir M StouteM J Kinane 3 9-1 9/114
2005ProclamationJ NosedaJ Murtagh3 8-137/121
2004KheleyfS Bin SuroorL Dettori3 8-106/115
2003MembershipC BrittainG Stevens3 8-1020/114
2002Just JamesJ NosedaO Peslier3 8-1120/115
2001MozartA P O'BrienM Kinane3 8-117/4f18
2000ObservatoryJ GosdenK Darley3 8-1111/219
1999Lots Of MagicR HannonD O'Neill3 8-1133/112
1998DiktatD LoderD Holland3 8-103/1f16
1997Among MenSir M StouteM Kinane3 8-134/1f20
1996Lucayan PrinceD LoderR Hughes3 8-1050/116
1995SergeyevR HannonR Hughes3 8-105/1f16
1994River DeepP ColeT Quinn3 8-1020/121
1993ArdkinglassH CecilW Ryan3 9-110/115
1992Prince FerdinandM McCormackJ Reid3 9-16/112
1991Satin FlowerJ GosdenS Cauthen3 8-712/114