Royal Ascot - At The Races

15:05 Ascot 20 Jun 2017

Coventry Stakes (Group 2) (Class 1) (2YO only)

Winner £85,065 - 18 ran



Good to Firm

View Course Guide

Weighed In

Last year’s race

  • Winner: Caravaggio
  • Jockey: R L Moore
  • Trainer: A P O'Brien
  • Owner: Mrs John Magnier, Mr M Tabor & Mr D Smith
  • Age: 2 Weight: 9st 1lb
  • Starting Price: 13/8f
  • Season Form Figures: 11
  • Previous Best: 1st - Marble Hill Stakes (Listed Race), Curragh (May 2016)

The Coventry Stakes has been a very good race for punters since it was promoted to Group 2 status 13 years ago with Caravaggio becoming the seventh winning favourite or joint-favourite in the last 11 years when successful last season. Just four winners since Chief Singer won at 20/1 on his racecourse debut in 1983 have failed to start in the first five in the betting and three of those were trained by Aidan O’Brien.

When Caravaggio won 12 months ago he ensured that Aidan O’Brien became the most successful trainer in the race’s almost 130-year history with an eighth winner. When winning the Derby, Wings Of Eagles became O’Brien’s 19th winner of a British of Irish class that wasn’t the shortest price of his contenders and we must also respect his second and third strings (according to the betting) in the Coventry as three of those have won.

Caravaggio became the seventh winning favourite or joint-favourite in the last 11 years when successful last season.

Last-time-out winners are a must as only Harbour Master has won off the back of a defeat in the last 33 years. It is likely that at least 50% of the field will be last-time-out winners so to help narrow the parameters further, it has definitely paid to concentrate on unbeaten horses. Caravaggio was 2-2 entering last year’s race but I like the strike rate of winners of their only start having won 11 of the last 24 runnings. This is in total contrast to the Queen Mary Stakes over 5f where 11 of the last 14 winners had run at least twice but very similar to the Albany Stakes over the same 6f as the Coventry Stakes.

The Hannon stable has the best record of British-based yards with recent wins for Canford Cliffs and Strong Suit who both won the same 6f maiden at Newbury win this season by the Charlie Hills-trained Nebo. After he won Hills likened him to his father’s Red Clubs who won the Coventry in 2005. The Hannon stable have two leading contenders this season in Denaar who won a conditions race at Newbury and the Woodcote winner, De Bruyne Horse. Two of the last three Woodcote winners went on to win at Royal Ascot including Buratino in the Coventry.

As for the best recent Irish guide, two of the last six Marble Hill Stakes winners, won by Brother Bear this season having been increased in trip from 5f to 6f, went on to win the Coventry Stakes. They being the O’Brien-trained pair of Power and Caravaggio.

As an aside, five Coventry Stakes winners between 2007-2012 also went on to win at Royal Ascot the following season.

At a glance summary

Unbeaten (preferably one run)
Trained by Aidan O’Brien or Richard Hannon
The favourite
Won the Marble Hill Stakes
Won at Newbury
Beaten last time out
Outside the front five in the betting

Previous Winners - COVENTRY STAKES

2016CaravaggioA P O'BrienR L Moore2 9-113/8f18
2015BuratinoM JohnstonW Buick2 9-16/117
2014The Wow SignalJ J QuinnL Dettori2 9-15/1jf15
2013War CommandA P O'BrienJ A Heffernan2 9-120/115
2012Dawn ApproachJ S BolgerK J Manning2 9-17/222
2011PowerA P O'BrienR L Moore2 9-14/1f23
2010Strong SuitR HannonR Hughes2 9-115/8f13
2009Canford CliffsR HannonR Hughes2 9-17/4f13
2008Art ConnoisseurM L W BellJ P Spencer2 9-18/118
2007HenrythenavigatorAidan O'Brien Michael Kinane 2 9-111/4f13
2006HellvelynB Smart T E Durcan 2 9-14/1jf21
2005Red ClubsB W HillsM Hills2 8-1211/214
2004IcemanJ GosdenK Fallon2 8-125/1jf13
2003Three ValleysR CharltonR Hughes2 8-127/113
2002Statue Of LibertyA P O'BrienM Kinane2 8-125/2f16
2001LandseerA P O'BrienJ Spencer2 8-1220/120
2000CD EuropeM ChannonS Drowne2 8-128/112
1999FasliyevA P O'BrienM Kinane2 8-1215/8f18
1998Red SeaP ColeT Quinn2 8-126/117
1997Harbour MasterA P O'BrienC Roche2 8-1216/115
1996VerglasK PrendergastW Supple2 8-129/115
1995Royal ApplauseB W HillsW R Swinburn2 8-1213/213
1994Sri PekanP ColeT Quinn2 8-136/116
1993StonehatchP Chapple-HyamJ Reid2 8-13Ev f6
1992PetardiaG WraggW R Swinburn2 8-135/1c12
1991DilumP ColeA Munro2 8-1311/10f14