Royal Ascot - At The Races

14:30 Ascot 20 Jun 2017

Queen Anne Stakes (Group 1) (British Champions Series) (Str) (Class 1) (4YO plus)

Winner £388,464 - 16 ran



Good to Firm (Good in places (Watered))

View Course Guide

Weighed In - Result Stands

Last year’s race

  • Winner: Tepin
  • Jockey: Julien Leparoux
  • Trainer: Mark Casse
  • Owner: Mr Robert E Masterson
  • Age: 5 Weight: 8st 11lb
  • Starting Price: 11/2
  • Season Form Figures: 1111
  • Previous Best: 1st - Jenny Wiley Stakes (Group 1), Keeneland (Apr 2016)

A strong trends race to kick of the meeting, possibly the strongest over the five days.

Since the Queen Anne was upgraded to Grade 1 status, 12 of the 14 winners had won at the highest level earlier in their career so be wary of horses attempting to break their Group 1 duck, like last year’s third Lightning Spear who tends to fall short when taking on the best milers.

The strong patterns don’t end there however as more than half the winners since 1980 ran in the Lockinge, which is saying something, four-year-olds have won 19 of the last 25 runnings and Godolphin have won the race on seven occasions. It’s all looking rather rosy for Ribchester then. Godolphin also have the Andre Fabre-trained Jimmy Two Times in the mix who they purchased after he won a Group 3 at Saint-Cloud earlier in the season and then followed up in a Group 2 at the same course in his new silks.

Other strong stats are that only one winner since 1995 started outside of the first four in the betting and the last winner aged over five was way back in 1976, which would be another trend against Lightning Spear, as it would for Mutakayyef who was two places behind Ribchester in Dubai in March. Only one seasonal debutant, Toronado, has won since Allied Forces in 1997.

Since the Queen Anne was upgraded to Grade 1 status, 12 of the 14 winners had won at the highest level earlier in their career.

As highlighted above, the key guide has unquestionably been the Lockinge Stakes featuring as many as 19 of the last 36 winners and won in convincing fashion by Ribchester who extended his advantage over Lightning Spear from the last time they met in the QEII by a length to 3½ lengths underlining Richard Fahey’s view that he continues to physically progress strengthening into that lengthy frame of his. Beaten horses in the Lockinge have won 13 of the last 22 Queen Anne’s but I’m not sure the rest from this season’s Group 1 at Newbury really count as they were beaten up so badly.

Last season’s Coronation Stakes winner at this meeting, Qemah, could head the French raiding party (won the race three times in the last 13 years) now that Solow has been retired rather than head for the calmer waters of the Duke Of Cambridge Stakes and also therefore lead the fillies’ challenge. However, Tepin and Goldikova are the only winning fillies/mares in the Queen Anne in the last 43 years but they entered the race as the reigning Breeders’ Cup Mile winner.

Aidan O’Brien has had mixed fortunes in the Queen Anne as horses with more brilliance than his three winners (Ad Valorem, Haradasun and Declaration Of War) such as Hawk Wing, George Washington and Rip Van Winkle even failed to place. Alice Springs might be his leading hope this time. The Hannon stable look short of a serious contender this season having won three of the last eight runnings with Paco Boy, Canford Cliffs and Toronado.

At a glance summary

Ran in the Lockinge Stakes
Owned by Godolphin
Trained by Richard Hannon or Aidan O'Brien
Failed to have won a Group 1 race
Start outside the first four in the betting
Unraced this season
Aged over five

Previous Winners - QUEEN ANNE STAKES

2016TepinMark CasseJulien Leparoux5 8-1111/213
2015SolowF HeadM Guyon5 9-011/8f8
2014ToronadoR HannonR Hughes4 9-04/5f10
2013Declaration Of WarA P O'BrienJ P O'Brien4 9-015/213
2012FrankelH R A CecilT P Queally4 9-01/10f11
2011Canford CliffsR HannonR Hughes4 9-011/87
2010GoldikovaF HeadO Peslier5 8-1111/8f10
2009Paco BoyR HannonR Hughes4 9-010/39
2008HaradasunA P O'BrienJ Murtagh5 9-05/111
2007RamontiSaeed Bin Suroor Frankie Dettori 5 9-05/18
2006Ad ValoremA P O'Brien K Fallon 4 9-013/27
2005ValixirAndre FabreC Soumillon4 9-04/110
2004Refuse To BendS Bin SuroorL Dettori4 9-012/116
2003Dubai DestinationS Bin SuroorL Dettori4 9-09/210
2002No Excuse NeededSir M StouteJ Murtagh4 9-213/212
2001MediceanSir M StouteK Fallon4 9-711/210
2000KalanisiSir M StouteK Fallon4 9-211/211
1999Cape CrossS Bin SuroorG Stevens5 9-77/18
1998IntikhabS Bin SuroorL Dettori4 9-29/4f9
1997Allied ForcesS Bin SuroorL Dettori4 9-510/111
1996Charnwood ForestS Bin SuroorM Kinane4 9-210/11f9
1995NicolotteG WraggM Hills4 9-216/17
1994BaratheaL CumaniM Kinane4 9-83/110
1993AlfloraC BrittainM Kinane4 9-220/19
1992LahibJ DunlopW Carson4 9-210/3f9
1991SikestonC BrittainM Roberts5 9-89/111